• Bastien Leguay

GPX Historic announces the driver lineup for their 11 F1 cars entered for the Monaco Historic Grand!

On the day before the opening practice sessions in the streets of the Principality, GPX Historic has revealed the names of the drivers who will install themselves behind the wheel of their Formula 1 single-seaters and take part in the 12th Monaco Historic Grand Prix.

Among them is a former Grand Prix driver, Jean-Denis Delétraz from Switzerland, who has been entered for two races: Series F for cars built between 1973 and 1976 in a Hesketh 308B and Series G (1977 to 1980) in an ATS D4. Another driver, South African Jordan Grogor, will also have a double mission to fulfill in Monaco. He will be in the team’s oldest car, the 1972 Surtees TS9B that will compete in class E, and one of the most recent, the Arrows A3 which he drove to third place in 2018.

Alain Ferté and Axcil Jefferies burnished the colours of the GPX Racing team in modern racing at the beginning of the season. The Frenchman, winner of the Monaco Formula 3 Grand Prix in 1981 and 1982, will drive the team’s other Arrows A3 in the Historic Grand Prix. The Zimbabwean will be entrusted with the only Token RJ02 built. GPX Historic is also delighted to count a Porsche works driver in their ranks who has also added to GPX Racing’s successes in grand touring racing – Frenchman, Julien Andlauer (Porsche Young Professional) who will be in a March 761.

In addition, two fervent collectors who have already raced in Monaco are entered: Swiss Tiziano Carugati in an ATS D3 and Frenchman Frédéric Fatien, owner of GP Extreme, with the unique Amon AF101. Pierre-Brice Mena, general manager of GP Extreme and Team Principal of GPX Racing at the modern GT3 events, is back at the wheel of the Shadow DN8, a car renowned for having won a grand prix (Austria 1977) counting for the F1 World Championship. Last but not least the team’s Shadow DN5 will be in the hands of Jérémy Loisel. He comes from the world of motocross and has cut his teeth in touring cars. The Frenchman has trained diligently to do justice to the legend of his car in Monaco.

Power for all these machines comes from the legendary 3-litre Ford Cosworth V8 DFV that contributed to the halcyon days of F1 for 19 seasons (if the DFY iteration is included) with 155 victories and 12 drivers’ world titles to cap it all!

On Friday 23rd April the drivers will take part in free practice followed by qualifying on Saturday 24th and then the races in the different series on Sunday 25th.

Photos by Antoine Truchet

GPX Historic car and driver entry:

Series E (1966-1972)

Surtees TS9B-Ford Cosworth #10 (1972) Jordan Grogor (ZA)

Series F (1973-1976)

Token RJ02-Ford Cosworth #42 (1974): Axcil Jefferies (ZWE)

Amon AF101-Ford Cosworth #30 (1974): Frédéric Fatien (F)

Shadow DN5-Ford Cosworth #16 (1975): Jérémy Loisel (F)

Hesketh 308B-Ford Cosworth #24 (1975): Jean-Denis Delétraz (CH)

March 761/4-Ford Cosworth #35 (1976): Julien Andlauer (F)

Series G (1977-1980)

Shadow DN8-Ford Cosworth #16 (1977) Pierre-Brice Mena (F)

ATS D3-Ford Cosworth #9 (1979) Tiziano Carugati (CH)

ATS D4-Ford Cosworth #10 (1980) Jean-Denis Delétraz (CH)

Arrows A3/4-Ford Cosworth #30 (1980) Jordan Grogor (ZA)

Arrows A3/3-Ford Cosworth #15 (1980) Alain Ferté (F)


GPX Racing record:


24 Hours of Spa overall winner.


GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup runner-up (Drivers and Teams

Coppa Florio – 12H of Sicily at Enna Pergusa winner.


Dubai 24 Hours overall winner

Asian Le Mans Series runner-up (Drivers and Teams).


Contact the team: Bastien Leguay

Mobile: +971 56 538 7738 – Email: bastien@gpextreme.com

Press Relations: Romane Didier / future racing commm

Mobile: +33 (0)6 10 65 30 16 – Email: futureracing@yahoo.fr

141 views0 comments